Home

As you most likely already know, the Vikings were the first to discover Vinland (America).

Image

The voyage was lead by Leiv Eriksson and was said to have happened a whole five centuries before Christopher Columbus. Below is a picture of a Norse sod longhouse (recreation) at L’Anse aux Meadows on the northernmost tip of Newfoundland.

Image

Now to get to the point of this post. To those of us born here in Vinland it is our ‘home’ but it is not our true home. On my visit to Ireland a few years back my brother and I got the opportunity to climb up a small mountain to have a better look at the valley below. When we were up there I could feel the call of my ancestors as the wind whipped around my body. I felt like I was truly home the minute we got out of the city, Dublin, and into the real countryside. When I go outside in my hometown and look at scenery I see oil rigs and topless mountains and it gives me a longing feeling. A feeling of sorrow that I am not living amongst my people in my homeland.

To all of you in Vinland feeling the same way that I do I will say this, Europe is bleeding and she is calling out to her children to come home and mend her wounds. We need to leave this land behind us and return to our ancestral home. Here is hoping that some day we will all be able to live amongst each other in a homogeneous Europe.

Hagall Ôðinn! Hagall Þôrr! Hagall Hindrvitni!

Image

5 comments on “Home

  1. valkyrieprincess says:

    Excellent post. ❤

  2. Edward Le Prieur says:

    I too live in Vinland! Hail!

  3. Edward Le Prieur says:

    Reblogged this on Vinland Shore.

Leave a Reply

